04/01/2014

We care for safety. Pano at the Interpack and PLMA 2014.

For Pano this year's Interpack in Düsseldorf and the PLMA in Amsterdam a few days later come firmly under the motto of “We care for safety”. Pano's BLUESEAL® is a lug cap that manufacturers and retailers can be sure off – namely for migration-critical specialities such as vegetables or fish in oil, pesto etc.

A study conducted on food from the EU by the Stuttgart CVUA and Zurich Cantonal Investigation Office reveals that EU migration limits are still being exceeded in numerous instances. From 1st January 2016, the PIM (EU 10/2011) will be tightening simulation conditions for migration measurements even further.

The chief arguments for switching to the PVC-free PANO BLUESEAL® closure being to ensure compliance with the current and future even stricter requirements of the legislation, food safety and consumer protection. Play it safe – no PVC, no plasticisers, BPA-NI, migration safety, sustainability. Sound reasons why suppliers of dairy products, of meat products, e.g. sausages, and of organic food should also switch to PVC-free alternatives.


05/08/2013

BPA-NI coating systems in the testphase.

In connection with the long-standing and very heated debate on the toxicological effect of Bisphenol A (BPA) on man, France has now created political facts and prohibits its use as a food contact material from 1st January 2015. In line with other EU countries, its use has been prohibited in children's food until now.

Based on their last statement of 30th September 2010, the European Food Safety Authority sees no necessity in amending the specific migration limit of 0.6 mg/kg food (EU Regulation 10/2011) that is currently valid. A new statement is announced for November 2013.

Coatings previously used are also well below the migration limits

At present, the coatings still used by Pano in its closures include epoxy coatings containing Bisphenol A, a common practice in the industry. The raw materials used in these instances meet the legal specifications. Extraction examinations could not determine any Bisphenol A on the inside coatings employed. The content lies below the detection limit. They fall many times below the above-mentioned limits.

Owing to the debate surrounding BPA, we started developing a BPA-NI coating system several years ago, collaborating with the suppliers of our coatings. Previous laboratory trials and filling tests have shown that - particularly in instances of aggressive fillings - no satisfactory corrosion protection has yet been attained that permits endorsement for a shelf-life of three years.

We shall have to conduct further tests so that we are also able to provide our customers with closures for the French market in future. We expect to find a timely solution offering adequate packaging- and food safety.

First BPA-NI sample caps from June 2013

To test resistance regarding the specific needs of customers and fillings, Pano can provide sample caps with the BPA-NI interior coating to all customers for own packing tests from June 2013. Coating changeover is subject to charge. Please get in touch if you are interested in having a supply of sample closures. Pano can also advise you on any issues surrounding execution of the test.


05/08/2013

BLUESEAL - even small it's big!

Pano has expanded its range of BLUESEAL® PVC-free lug caps by adding two new sizes - diameters of 38 mm and 48 mm. This has considerably widened the number of possible applications within the BLUESEAL® spectrum. Now, even bottles of spicy sauce such as steak sauce or ketchup, small jars containing delicatessen products, capers, for example, and many glass drink bottles can be closed in this environmentally-friendly way. Particularly with its 48 mm-sized closures, Pano now offers the dairy industry an alternative to capping returnable milk bottles. Several well-known dairies are already using the Pano BLUESEAL® for yoghurts in the 500 g returnable jars.

After adding further production lines to the company's new plant in Itzehoe, Pano now has an annual capacity of around 300 million BLUESEAL® closures. Distribution has been extended on a global scale. In China, Southern Europe and even in South America, BLUESEAL® meets with positive response.

In addition to specialists such as Lee Kum Kee with Chinese sauces and Vanelli with anchovies in jars, several Italian and German manufacturers of pesto and pasta sauces now also number amongst BLUESEAL®'s customers.

Precluding contaminant migration into the filling, the BLUESEAL® closure seal is PVC- and plasticizer-free. Further benefits also include: No environmental pollution by emissions, a lower energy consumption in closure production and problem-free recycling.

Sizes of BLUESEAL® currently available are 38, 48, 53, 58, 63, 66 and 70 mm. A 77 mm size is to follow in the latter half of 2013. BLUESEAL® closures with a diameter of 82 mm will be first available in early 2014. The Pano BLUESEAL® closure can be closed using regular glass capping machines so that no further investment in equipment is necessary. The Pano technicians will be happy to assist with trials.


10/14/2012

Becoming increasingly more popular: Jar closures without PVC and plasticizers

Every year, more than 20 billion closures are produced for glass jars in Europe. Of these, around 3.5 billion are used by manufacturers for oily and fatty food products. Until recently, there was no other alternative to closures with a seal made of PVC.

Plasticizers need to be added to make PVC supple. But health risks could not be safely excluded from any of the substances. Indeed, the EU adopted regulations to limit transfer of plasticizers into food. However, limit values always assume that only a certain quantity of a food is consumed. In practice, this can be quite different.

In the last few years, repeatedly severe levels of contamination through plasticizers has been found in oily and fatty foods. Baby porridge, pesto, pasta sauces and tuna in oil, for example, were affected.

Since oils and fats promote migration into the filling it is extremely difficult for manufacturers involved in this to comply with the migration limits laid down in Europe. In view of the quantities produced annually, manufacturers are at great risk of running into conflict with the determinations.

While crown corks are almost exclusively PVC-free nowadays, it is only recently that jar closures have come up for review. Pano, the German closure manufacturer, has been providing impetus with the world's first PVC-free twist-off lug cap, Pano BLUESEAL®. The seal is made from Provalin®, a material based on thermoplastic elastomers, which remains supple without the need for plasticizers. Thanks to Pano Blueseal, compliance with all migration regulations is easily achievable, even with small packs and unfavourable general conditions.

Increasing numbers of food manufacturers are now focusing on the PVC-free closure. Dittmann, the German deli brand, was there from the start and, as a result, played a large role in developing Pano Blueseal. German organic brands such as Andechser in the yoghurt sector, Zwergenwiese, Bruno Fischer, Tartex and Isana equally use the closures nowadays, followed by producers from Italy, Spain, Greece and Turkey.

The Chinese have also recognised the value of the PVC-free BLUESEAL® closures. Lee Kum Kee, a specialist in Chinese sauces, was the first Chinese company to accept costs involved in switching.

Pano assists interested manufacturers in changing from conventional closures to Pano BLUESEAL®. Similar to conventional twist-off lug caps, Pano BLUESEAL® is equally suitable for hot and cold filling, pasteurisation and sterilisation, is also available with and without buttons and can be processed in all steam vacuum sealing machines. It is also available in every requested varnish and print finish. To differentiate Pano BLUESEAL® from previous closures, the sealing compound has been coloured blue.

Recognising a PVC-free and plasticizer-free product on the supermarket shelf from its external appearance, is quite likely to be a key factor, particularly for health- and environmentally conscious consumers. For this reason, Pano is offering to put a PVC-free label on the closure for its customers. Or alternatively, it would also be possible to mark the jar label. What is key here is that the consumer immediately knows: He is in safe hands here.

08.05.2013

BPA-NI Lacksysteme in der Testphase.

Im Zusammenhang mit der jahrelang sehr kontrovers geführten Diskussion über die toxikologische Wirkung von Bisphenol A (BPA) auf den Menschen, hat Frankreich jetzt politische Fakten geschaffen und verbietet die Verwendung als Lebensmittelkontaktmaterial ab 1. Januar 2015. Bisher gilt bereits wie auch in anderen EU-Ländern ein Verwendungsverbot bei Kindernahrung.

Die europäische Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit sieht auf Basis ihrer letzten Stellungnahme vom 30. September 2010 keine Notwendigkeit, das derzeit gültige spezifische Migrationslimit von 0,6 mg/kg Lebensmittel (EU Verordnung 10/2011) zu ändern. Eine neue Stellungnahme ist für November 2013 angekündigt.

Auch bisher eingesetzte Lacke weit unterhalb des Migrationslimits

Pano Verschlüsse werden zur Zeit noch wie branchenüblich u.a. mit Epoxylacken lackiert, die Bisphenol A enthalten. Die hierbei eingesetzten Rohstoffe entsprechen den gesetzlichen Vorgaben. Bei Extraktionsuntersuchungen an den eingesetzten Innenlacken konnte kein Bisphenol A nachgewiesen werden. Der Gehalt liegt unterhalb der Nachweisgrenze. Die o. g. Grenzwerte werden um ein Vielfaches unterschritten.

Aufgrund der Diskussionen um BPA haben wir bereits vor mehreren Jahren in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Lacklieferanten mit der Entwicklung BPA-NI Lacksysteme begonnen. Die bisherigen Laborversuche und Füllguttests ergaben, dass insbesondere für aggressive Füllgüter noch kein ausreichender Korrosionsschutz erzielt wird, der eine Bestätigung über ein Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatum von 3 Jahren erlaubt.

Damit wir unseren Kunden auch zukünftig Verschlüsse für den französischen Markt zur Verfügung stellen können, sind weitere Tests erforderlich. Wir gehen davon aus, fristgerecht Lösungen zu finden, die eine ausreichende Packungs- und Lebensmittelsicherheit bieten.

Erste BPA-NI Musterverschlüsse ab Juni 2013

Um kunden- und füllgut-spezifische Beständigkeiten untersuchen zu können, kann Pano allen Kunden ab Juni 2013 Musterverschlüsse mit BPA-NI Innenlackierung für eigene Packtests zur Verfügung stellen. Die Lackumstellung ist mit Mehrkosten verbunden. Sprechen Sie uns bei Interesse an der Lieferung von Musterverschlüssen bitte an. Pano berät Sie gern auch bei Fragen rund um die Testdurchführung.


08.05.2013

BLUESEAL - auch klein ganz groß!

Pano hat den PVC-freien Nockendrehverschluss BLUESEAL® um die Durchmesser 38 und 48 mm erweitert. Damit vergrößert sich das Spektrum der Einsatzmöglichkeiten des BLUESEAL® erheblich. Auch Flaschen für Würzsoßen wie Steaksaucen oder Ketchup, kleine Gläser mit Feinkost wie z. B. Kapern und viele Getränke-Glasflaschen können somit jetzt umweltfreundlich verschlossen werden. Der Molkereiwirtschaft bietet Pano speziell mit der Verschlussgröße 48 mm eine Alternative zum Verschließen von Milch-Mehrwegflaschen. Mehrere namhafte Molkereien nutzen den Pano BLUESEAL® bereits für Jogurts im 500g-Mehrwegglas.

Nachdem Pano weitere Produktionslinien im neuen Werk in Itzehoe eingerichtet hat, verfügt das Unternehmen jetzt über eine Kapazität von rund 300 Mio. BLUESEAL® Verschlüssen pro Jahr. Der Absatz konnte weltweit ausgebaut werden. In China, Südeuropa und selbst in Südamerika stößt der BLUESEAL® auf positive Resonanz.

Zu den BLUESEAL® Kunden zählen bereits neben dem Spezialisten Lee Kum Kee mit chinesischen Saucen und Vanelli mit Anchovis in Gläsern auch mehrere italienische und deutsche Hersteller von Pesto und Nudelsoßen.

Weil die Verschlussdichtung des BLUESEAL® kein PVC und keine Weichmacher enthält, ist eine Schadstoff-Migration ins Füllgut ausgeschlossen. Vorteile sind darüber hinaus: keine Umweltbelastung durch Emissionen, ein geringerer Energieverbrauch bei der Verschlussproduktion und ein problemloses Recycling.

Der BLUESEAL® steht zur Zeit in den Größen 38, 48, 53, 58, 63, 66 und 70 mm zur Verfügung. Im zweiten Halbjahr 2013 soll die Größe 77 mm folgen. Anfang 2014 werden erstmals BLUESEAL® Verschlüsse mit dem Durchmesser 82 mm lieferbar sein. Der Pano BLUESEAL® Verschluss kann mit den üblichen vorhandenen Gläserverschließmaschinen verschlossen werden, es sind keine Investitionen in neue Anlagen erforderlich. Die Pano Techniker unterstützen Sie gerne bei Versuchen.


09.10.2012

Immer mehr im Kommen: Gläserverschlüsse ohne PVC und Weichmacher

Jährlich werden in Europa über 20 Milliarden Verschlüsse für Konservengläser produziert. Davon werden rund 3,5 Milliarden Stück von Herstellern öliger und fetthaltiger Lebensmittelprodukte verwendet. Bis vor kurzem gab es dabei keine Alternative zu Verschlüssen mit einer Dichtung aus PVC.

Um das PVC geschmeidig zu machen, müssen Weichmacher beigemischt werden. Bei keinem der Stoffe aber können Gesundheitsgefahren sicher ausgeschlossen werden. Zwar hat die EU Verordnungen erlassen, die einen Übergang der Weichmacher ins Lebensmittel begrenzen. Grenzwerte gehen jedoch immer davon aus, dass nur eine bestimmte Menge eines Lebensmittels verzehrt wird. Die Praxis kann anders aussehen.

Bei öl- und fetthaltigen Lebensmitteln wurden in den letzten Jahren immer wieder starke Belastungen durch Weichmacher festgestellt. Betroffen waren z. B. Babybrei, Pesto, Pastasaucen und Thunfisch in Öl.

Weil Öle und Fette eine Migration ins Füllgut begünstigen, ist es für die betroffenen Hersteller sehr schwer, die in Europa festgesetzten Migrationsgrenzen einzuhalten. Angesichts der Mengen, die jährlich produziert werden, gehen die Hersteller ein großes Risiko ein, in Konflikt mit den Bestimmungen zu geraten.

Während Kronkorken heute fast ausschließlich PVC-frei produziert werden, findet bei den Gläserverschlüssen erst seit kurzem ein Umdenken statt. Den Anstoß gibt der deutsche Verschlusshersteller Pano mit dem weltweit ersten PVC-freien Nockendrehverschluss Pano Blueseal. Dessen Dichtung besteht aus dem auf thermoplastischen Elastomeren basierenden Material Provalin®, das keinen Weichmacher benötigt, um geschmeidig zu bleiben. So lassen sich mit Pano Blueseal® alle Migrationsvorschriften einfach einhalten, auch bei Kleinpackungen und ungünstigen Rahmenbedingungen.

Inzwischen setzen immer mehr Lebensmittelhersteller auf den PVC-freien Verschluss. Der deutsche Markenartikler Feinkost Dittmann ist von Anfang an dabei und hat dadurch sehr viel zu der Entwicklung des Pano Blueseal® beigetragen. Deutsche Biomarken wie Andechser im Bereich Joghurt, die Zwergenwiese, Bruno Fischer, Tartex und Isana nutzen den Verschluss heute ebenfalls, gefolgt von Produzenten aus Italien, Spanien, Griechenland und der Türkei.

Auch in China wurde die Bedeutung der PVC-freien Blueseal® Verschlüsse bereits erkannt. Lee Kum Kee, ein Spezialist für chinesische Saucen, hat als erstes chinesisches Unternehmen die Kosten für die Umstellung in Kauf genommen.

Pano unterstützt interessierte Hersteller bei der Umstellung von konventionellen Verschlüssen auf Pano Blueseal®. Wie herkömmliche Nockendrehverschlüsse ist auch Pano Blueseal® für Heiß- und Kaltabfüllung geeignet, pasteurisations- und sterilisationsfähig, dabei mit und ohne Button lieferbar und mit allen Dampfvakuumverschließmaschinen zu verarbeiten. Ebenso ist jede gewünschte Lackierung und Bedruckung möglich. Um Pano Blueseal® von den früheren Verschlüssen unterscheidbar zu machen, ist die Dichtungsmasse blau eingefärbt.

Vor allem für gesundheits- und umweltbewusste Verbraucher dürfte es allerdings wichtig sein, schon von außen erkennen zu können, ob ein im Supermarktregal stehendes Produkt PVC-frei ist und frei von Weichmachern. Pano bietet den Kunden deshalb an, eine PVC-frei-Kennzeichnung am Verschluss anzubringen. Alternativ ist eine Kennzeichnung auf dem Glasetikett möglich. Entscheidend dabei ist, dass der Verbraucher sofort weiß: Hier ist er auf der sicheren Seite.


25.04.2012

Pano BLUESEAL

Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, uns auf der PLMA Fachmesse „Welt der Handelsmarken“ in Amsterdam zu besuchen. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie auf dem gemeinsamen Stand von Actega und Pano begrüßen zu dürfen:

PLMA „Welt der Handelsmarken“, Food Section RAI Holland Complex, Stand 9418

Pano ist mit einer Innovation dabei, die sich in großen Schritten in der Lebensmittelindustrie durchsetzt. Mit dem Nockendrehverschluss BLUESEAL® und seiner PVC-freien Dichtungsmasse PROVALIN® ist uns und unserem Entwicklungspartner

Actega ein Meilenstein für eine PVC-freie Zukunft gelungen.

Mit BLUESEAL® entspricht die Verpackung den strengen Anforderungen der aktuellen EU- und FDA-Regeln. Zeit zum Umsteigen auf den Verschluss ohne PVC, ohne Weichmacher und ohne Migrationsprobleme.

Auf der PLMA heißt es: No PVC. Just BLUESEAL®. Erleben Sie ihn selbst.